Baking
Leave a Comment

4 Lazy cupboard bakes

So sometimes I get myself in a baking mood, ready to something productive and fun that’ll be demolished the minute my flat mates get home. Then I check the fridge for fresh lemons or blueberries or plutonium or whatever the hell I’m supposed to be using, and discover it’s bare.

Gets me every time.

So, I thought I’d share some of my favourite bakes that don’t need a million and one ingredients and can be made using stuff you probably already have in your cupboard. No need to brave the chilly run to the corner shop or frantically ring everyone you know who might be passing a Tesco on their way home, the lazy bakes are here!

1.) Jam tarts

Saw these bad boys in Madrid - delicious!

Saw these bad boys in Madrid – delicious!

These are SO easy it doesn’t even really feel like baking. Everyone has jam in the house, don’t lie to me. And it can be any type you want, go crazy.

  • Strawberry/raspberry jam – 1/2 jar
  • 28g caster sugar
  • 255g plain flour
  • 140g of butter
  • 6 tbsp cold water

Here’s a nice easy recipe to try out from the BBC Good Food website.

2.) Nutella Brownies

Hot and fresh out the of the oven!

Hot and fresh out the of the oven!

Not sure if this is just me, but I must be within 10 feet of a jar of nutella at all times. There will always be a jar in my cupboard, never fear. These brownies only have 5 ingredients, you just combine all your bits, mix in a bowl and whack it in the oven. They have a great texture!

  • 1 jar 400g Nutella
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • plain flour
  • 2 large eggs

Belive it or not, it really is that simply. Combine all your ingredients in a bowl, mix with a whisk until you get a nice smooth consistency with no lumps. Then spoon it out into a 20cm baking tray and pop in the oven for around 20 mins at 180c. Give it a poke after 20 mins to check if the middle is still squishy. To be honest that’s how I like them.

For BONUS chocolate – pour in half the mixture, stick a slab of milk chocolate in the middle, pour in the rest of the mix and bake. Heavenly.

3.) Buttery shortbread biscuits

I didn’t know how simply shortbread was until I tried it for myself. It’s pretty much just butter. There’s other stuff in there too, but let’s be honest it’s the butter we really care about.

Shortbread beauties!

Shortbread beauties!

This is a great recipe to follow, really easy. You just need sugar, flour, butter and little bit of vanilla essence. I always keep these things stocked up anyway so it’s usually a winner. BONUS – these are delicious with a little lemon curd.

4.) Peanut butter cookies

courtesy of Ann@74 on Flickr

courtesy of Ann@74 on Flickr

These are my current faves, GOD I love peanut butter.

You just need a jar of peanut butter and the rest is history. I’ve experimented a lot with this recipe to get the right consistency and peanut butteryness.

  • So the final version
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • soft brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs

Enjoy! Georgie xx

Leave a Reply

